…having faith.

http://www.usatoday.com/news/religion/2009-06-25-gay-christian_N.htm

Above is a blog to a short article regarding homosexuals and faith. The articles states that 60% of homosexuals polled said that faith was important to them. The research side of me wants more stats and wants to see more about the instrument, but the non-dork side is happy to hear this.

Faith has made me who I am today. During my formidable years (which, by the way, I think are still occurring) of high school, my faith defined me. Today it is still a very important part of me.

I will be the first to admit that I am not overtly faithful. I wear no religious items (crosses, stars, etc.) and I rarely preach or mention God. My faith is a personal journey that is difficult for me to put into words, and if you know me, talking is usually easy for me.

Faith, in the context of this survey, may not mean faith in God. One of my favorite movies has a quote that says, “Why, when I mention faith, do you assume that I am talking about God?” I often feel this way when I speak to non-Christians. I feel unable to discuss faith because automatically it is absurd to think that an educated (and ridiculously good looking) gay man could want to associate with religions that want to persecute, degrade, and harm him.

I know that I have made this point here before, but faith is yours. Faith may be the belief in God, or gods, or nature, or self-strength. I am not here to tell you your faith needs to be something. I am here to say that faith is important. It has shaped and molded me, and it is shaping and molding the 60% of respondents that answered this survey.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to read. Please do not be a quiet observer. Comment on my thoughts and add your own.

One Response to “…having faith.”

  1. “I feel unable to discuss faith because automatically it is absurd to think that an educated (and ridiculously good looking) gay man could want to associate with religions that want to persecute, degrade, and harm him.”

    Exactly. When I talk about my faith, people don’t understand. Either they know I’m gay and they don’t understand why someone would want to be part of something that damns me, or they don’t know I’m gay but they STILL don’t understand why I would want to be a part of religion, because religion has damned THEM. I have a hard time arguing with them, because even my most recent attempts to be part of a church that was open and accepting led to me storming off in my own little huff and vowing not to go back. they jury’s still out on whether I will ever go back to that church, but it’s clear that it’s hard for the church to accept “weird” people who don’t “fit in.” Never mind that none of us fit in until people decided we fit in and started accepting us. I don’t know where to go from here, but I know that people are giving up on hope all around me, and it’s because they’re afraid, they’re in pain, and they either think there’s nothing beyond this life, or they’re afraid that some hell exists for them beyond this life. That’s a powerful fear, and to be frank, it’s hard to combat that when the Christians in my town act like such tools all the time that no one will sit with me and listen and try to find another way of seeing God because the image they have of God is of a monster.

    My faith is important. It’s what keeps me going when I want to give up (like now). I don’t care if people share my exact path, I just want us all to have faith that there’s a reason to keep going. That’s what gives our lives meaning. I do believe, help thou, O God, my unbelief.

Leave a Reply

